Mason County Michigan

Planning and Zoning

Mason County Planning and Zoning Department
Building Department (go to web page)
102 E. 5th Street 
Scottville, MICHIGAN  49454
(231) 757-9272 or (231) 757-9345
Zoning and Building Director: Cayla Sanders (ext. 310)
Administrative Assistants: Tammy Lowe (ext. 314), Linzie Tiffany (ext. 312)
Zoning Fieldperson: Chris Kotecki (ext. 313)
The Mason County Planning and Zoning Department is responsible for administration and enforcement of the Mason County Zoning Ordinance in the following Townships:  Amber, Branch, Eden, Riverton, Summit, Sheridan, Sherman, Meade, Victory, Custer, and Logan. The department provides assistance and technical support to the Planning Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals.  The Department also assists the Planning Commission with revising and implementating the Mason County Master Plan.
The department is also responsible for enforcement or administration of 1) Mason County Airport Zoning Overlay Zone, 2)  Floodplain management related to FEMA mapped hazard areas and 3) Junk enforcement for member Township and Villages within the Municipal Junk Authority of Mason County. 


  • The zoning office is open Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon and 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m..
  • Cash, check, and money orders are accepted.  
  • For information on permit fees please contact the Zoning Office.
  • Zoning permits can be sent and returned by mail.  Zoning permits may be downloaded.  Remember to sign the permit and please call the office for the fee amount.  Checks can be made payable to "Mason County."
  • For Building, Mechanical, Electrical, and Plumbing permits go to the Building Department.
Setbacks and Lot Size Requirements
Zoning Map
Site Plan Review Checklist
Special Land Use Information
Variance Information
Frequently Asked Questions