Mason County Michigan

Parks & Recreation Commission


2023-2027 Five-Year Recreation Plan

Click here for Current Weather



            The Commission is a 10 member body established as provided by a state law.  Members include the chairman of the Road Commission or one of its members, the Drain Commissioner, Chairman of the Planning Commission, a member of the County Board, and six members appointed by the County Board whose terms are for 3 years which are staggered so that two members are appointed each year.  Generally at the first meeting of each year this group elects a Chairperson, a Vice Chairperson, and a Secretary to act for the Commission.  The Commission lays out the capital improvement plans for the parks.   Generally the commission meets four times a year unless the chairperson calls for special meetings due to need.


          The Mason County Campground and Picnic Area is interested in hearing from the public.  If you hve any suggestions about the Mason County Campground or the Picnic Area, please send an e-mail with your ideas to:   We value the public's input.


Current Members of the Commission are:
Steve Begnoche, Chairman, Dan Rohde, Secretary,
Wayne Andersen, Gary Castonia, Jeff Conklin, Michael Genter, Charity Johnston,
Brian Koblinski, Debbie Roberts, Michael Shaw, and Jeffrey Schwass. 

2024 Schedule of Meetings
Monday, February 26, 2024 @ 102 E. Fifth Street, Scottville - 4:00 p.m.
Monday, April 15, 2024 @ 102 E. Fifth Street, Scottville - 3:00 p.m.
Monday, June 17, 2024 @ 102 E. Fifth Street, Scottville - 3:00 p.m.
Monday, August 19, 2024 @ Mason County Picnic Area Pavilion - 3:00 p.m.
Monday, October  21, 2024 @ 102 E. Fifth Street, Scottville - 3:00 p.m.
Updated June 14, 2023