Mason County Michigan

Parks & Recreation Commission


Please click the link below for the Five Year Recreation Plan Update Draft for Public Review

The Public Comment period has ended for the Five Year Recreation Plan Update.
A Public Meeting to vote on the plan is scheduled for October 17, 2022 at 3:00 pm at 102 East Fifth Street, Scottville, MI.

Click here for Current Weather



            The Commission is a 10 member body established as provided by a state law.  Members include the chairman of the Road Commission or one of its members, the Drain Commissioner, Chairman of the Planning Commission, a member of the County Board, and six members appointed by the County Board whose terms are for 3 years which are staggered so that two members are appointed each year.  Generally at the first meeting of each year this group elects a Chairperson, a Vice Chairperson, and a Secretary to act for the Commission.  The Commission lays out the capital improvement plans for the parks.   Generally the commission meets four times a year unless the chairperson calls for special meetings due to need.


          The Mason County Campground and Picnic Area is interested in hearing from the public.  If you hve any suggestions about the Mason County Campground or the Picnic Area, please send an e-mail with your ideas to:   We value the public's input.


Current Members of the Commission are:
Steve Begnoche, Chairman, Dan Rohde, Secretary,
Wayne Andersen, Gary Castonia, Michael Genter, Mike Ingison, Charity Johnston,
Brian Koblinski, Debbie Roberts, Michael Shaw, and Jeffrey Schwass. 

2022 Schedule of Meetings
Monday, February 27, 2023 @ 102 E. Fifth Street, Scottville - 3:00 p.m.
Monday, April 17, 2023 @ 102 E. Fifth Street, Scottville - 3:00 p.m.
Monday, June 19, 2023 @ 102 E. Fifth Street, Scottville - 2:00 p.m.
Monday, August 21, 2023 @ Mason County Picnic Area Pavilion - 3:00 p.m.
Monday, October 16, 2023 @ 102 E. Fifth Street, Scottville - 3:00 p.m.
Mason County Recreation Plan 2018 - 2022 (click here)
Updated July 13, 2022