Mason County Michigan

Mason County Trial Court

Information for Visitors about the Court System and Services in Mason County

The Constitution of the State of Michigan of 1963 provides that “the judicial power of the state is vested exclusively in one court of justice,” which comprises multiple courts with various names and differing geographical and judicial-action jurisdictions. The Mason County Trial Court (MCTC) comprises three such courts that have different areas of authority, and each is served by a single judge who is elected on a nonpartisan ballot to a term of six years:

• The Honorable Susan Kasley Sniegowski
   51st Circuit Court

• The Honorable Jeffrey C. Nellis, Chief Judge*
   Mason County Probate Court

• The Honorable John D. Middlebrook
   79th Distict Court

*Appointed by order of the Michigan Supreme Court to serve as chief judge of
  the courts of Mason County for a two-year period commencing Jan. 1, 2022.
If you need to go to court, it may mean that it is a stressful time for you or someone you know. Get off to a good start by being punctual, polite, and prepared.

Find out what you need to know before you go by visiting the Coming to Court page for information about parking, entrances and accessibility, and where you should report once you are inside the building.

The Mason County judiciary is committed to open access to judicial services. Visit the Mason County Trial Court Accessibility page for contact information to request an auxiliary aid or service or to ask for help with questions or concerns about disability discrimination.

The clerks of the courts are committed to providing prompt and courteous service. They are not permitted, however, pursuant to MCL 600.916, to provide legal advice and may not prepare any forms or documents for you. If you need legal assistance and are financially able, you should consult an attorney, but you are not required to have an attorney represent you. The Self-Help Legal Resources page provides additional information along with links to legal organizations that assist and educate.

Mason County is one of 83 counties in the State of Michigan. It is assigned—along with the Counties of Allegan, Barry, Berrien, Calhoun, Cass, Eaton, Ionia, Jackson, Kent, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Ottawa, Van Buren, and Washtenaw—to the Michigan Court of Appeals Judicial District III:

State of Michigan Building
350 Ottawa NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2349

Terms of Use, Privacy Statement, and Disclaimer for the Courts Pages of the Mason County Government Website
By accessing these webpages, you accept the terms of use and acknowledge the policies and disclaimer expressed therein.
Report comments or concerns about the content of this courts webpage to the court technology coordinator.
Page last updated/reviewed for content February 15, 2022