## **NEWS RELEASE**

Mason County Apportionment Commission Mason County Courthouse Ludington, MI 49431

The Mason County Apportionment Commission released its' reapportionment plan for Mason County. Under Michigan law reapportionment occurs every ten (10) years. The 2010 census established the number of county commission districts for the ten (10) year period beginning with the 2012 elections. The Apportionment Commission consists of the chairpersons of the Mason County Democratic Committee and Mason County Republican Committee, together with the Mason County Prosecuting Attorney, Mason County Clerk and Mason County Treasurer.

Michigan law requires that Mason County be apportioned into not less than five (5) nor more that fifteen (15) districts based upon a 2010 census population of 28,705. After considering several plans for 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 districts, the Apportionment Commission adopted a plan for seven (7) county commissioner districts utilizing the census data and the criteria set forth in Michigan law. Michigan law and court rulings require that each district have a population within a range of 11.9% from the highest to lowest, that districts be contiguous and as compact as practicable, that cities not be combined with townships unless necessary to meet the population standard and that districts not be drawn to effect partisan political advantage.

The seven (7) districts and their populations are as follows:

District 1 Ludington City Ludington City bounded on the north by the city limits, then south on the east city limits to Tinkham Avenue; west on Tinkham Avenue to Staffon Street; south on Staffon Street to Anderson Street; west on Anderson Street to Rowe Street; south on Rowe Street to Danaher Street, east on Danaher Street to Delia Street and south on

Delia Street to Pere Marquette Lake. This district also includes Crosswinds Condominiums

3,873

District 3	Hamlin Township & Grant Township
District 4	Pere Marquette Township Precinct 2 (north of US-10) & Amber Township 4,187
District 5	Pere Marquette Township Precinct 1 (South of US-10), Summit Township, Riverton Township & Scottville City
District 6	Victory Township, Sherman Township, Free Soil Township, Meade Township & N½ of Sheridan Township (North of Millerton Road) <b>4,043</b>
District 7	Logan Township, Eden Township, Custer Township, Branch Township & S½ of Sheridan Township (south of Millerton Road)