Mason County Michigan

Welcome to the Mason County Trial Court

The Constitution of the State of Michigan of 1963 provides that “the judicial power of the state is vested exclusively in one court of justice,” which comprises multiple courts with various names and differing geographical and judicial-action jurisdictions. Mason County has three such courts having different areas of authority that are each served by a single judge who is elected on a nonpartisan ballot to a term of six years:

• The Honorable Susan Kasley Sniegowski
   51st Circuit Court

• The Honorable Jeffrey C. Nellis, Chief Judge*
   Mason County Probate Court

• The Honorable Peter J. Wadel
   79th District Court

Mason County is one of 83 counties in the State of Michigan. It is assigned to the Michigan Court of Appeals Judicial District III along with the Counties of Allegan, Barry, Berrien, Calhoun, Cass, Eaton, Ionia, Jackson, Kent, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Ottawa, Van Buren and Washtenaw.

*Selected by the Michigan Supreme Court to serve as chief judge of the
  Mason County Trial Court for a 2-year term commencing Jan. 1, 2018.

Updated November 29, 2018